PDA

View Full Version : Mrsa

buglebe
02-15-2009, 07:01 PM
I was in the hospital a couple of weeks before Christmas and they culture everyone's nose who comes into the cardiac unit for MRSA. They found MRSA in my nose. They said because I was a hospital nurse for over 16 yrs and because I have been in the hospital as a patient so many times that it would be unusual for me not to have it. They treat the nose with an antibiotic on a q tip and the finger tips. Even though I am an RN I don't understand enough about MRSA. They say that everyone who has worked in a hospital for years probably has it in their nose , whether they are working in nursing or administration. Have any of you heard about this before? Anyone want to explain it to me better? Thought I had it in my nose, I didn't have the life threatening type of it.

belle5691
02-15-2009, 10:09 PM
An excellent website about MRSA (actually started by the Centers for Disease Control in Washington DC) is www.skinisthesource.org . I got to meet with Dr. Granato and Lillian Burns (from the website) in New York a year and a half ago and do a radio program for the East Coast, along with work on the website.

I got MRSA from a hysterectomy, and it reoccurs from time to time as the life threatening kind. However, the doctors had me start using Bactroban (I think is the right name) on the Q tip in my nose to keep reoccurences down. Good luck with it all.

tunisia
02-16-2009, 06:07 AM
oh yes. quite true. I believe that most hospitals started instituting this in mid 2008 where anyone that is admitted to the hospital either direct admit or through the ER are swabbed in the nares for MRSA. We also swab the anus for VRE. I do believe that the new medicare laws require that for all medicare pts because if it is found to be a nosocomial infection, they don't pay for the treatment, and the hospital where the MRSA was spread to the pt is responsible.

We always laugh that if they swabbed each of us, we'd sure be positive.