PDA

View Full Version : Is there anything more annoying than a solicitor?

sandooch
01-29-2009, 12:40 PM
I don't mind the kids selling candy so much, but the pushy people really get to me. I've had a couple from the same carpet cleaning company come up to my door practically begging me to let them clean my carpet. Even after I told them that I have my own carpet cleaner and clean carpets as part of my job (both true) they insisted to let me come in and clean my carpets for free. This last one even told me, "Oh, we don't want your money. We are just hoping you'd advertise for us." I told her, "Now, why would I do that when I just told you I do this for a living?" She knew she got caught, but it didn't stop her from begging me to let her clean my carpet.

I am not kidding you; I must have told her "NO" as least 20 times! She would just not give up, even as I was slowly closing the door on her. Her begging was just very unprofessional, annoying and downright rude.

Well, enough is enough! I went on eBay today and bought a "No Soliciting" sign. I'm hanging it right near my doorbell. The next time a solicitor comes to my door and dares to ring my bell after knowing I don't want solicitors here, I am going to just peek up over my door window and ask what they want. When they start with their shpeel (sp?) about what they're selling, I'll cut them off and ask, "Read the sign above the doorbell." Then I'm just going to walk away, regardless of whether or not they continue talking.

I really wish they'd pass a law that would prohibit any type of door-to-door solicitation, whether it's selling an item or Jehovah's witness. Sorry if it sounds mean, but if I am interested in buying what you're selling or joining your religion, I will go out and buy it/do it myself. It is just so annoying, and who wants to open their doors to strangers anyway? :getyou

Whew! That felt good to get off my chest.

baragabrat
01-29-2009, 12:46 PM