PDA

View Full Version : Do you put flowers on graves during the Memorial Day holiday weekend ?

Char
05-24-2008, 09:29 PM
I'm just wondering. I do for my dad, and have every year since 1996. He's the only one though, except for a few other relatives graves I have on occasion. I don't actually do it 'for' Memorial Day, it's just the perfect time.

I wonder because DH's family never put flowers on any graves. HD's Grandma passed away about 9 months ago, and, no one did any flowers. I think I'll be putting some on their myself.

Being a floral designer, I do my own, and that does make it easier.

lucimPI
05-24-2008, 09:35 PM
I do for my mom, dad, grandmother, grandfather and for DH's father, grandmother and Uncle. In fact I keep flowers on the graves year round, different ones for different seasons. I don't do real flowers because it is just a hassle trying to keep them watered, I just do the silk ones.

Char
05-24-2008, 09:39 PM
Yea, I do everything in 'forever silks', and, I hot glue them so they don't blow away, fall off etc... I do bunches otherwise, that I get paid for.

My Dad's is the only one I do regularly. My Mom is still living, and, the children of my grandparents are still living and most of them do those graves.

diana_circe
05-24-2008, 09:42 PM
We go to my dad's grave on his birthday, and weather premitting, Christmas. Those were his favorite two days a year. Both being holidays, he was born on Groundhog's Day :)

littlered1
05-24-2008, 09:59 PM
I do it for my brothers and sisters. And I also go out every week or so in the summer and water the flowers and weed a few other graves of family members.

hotwheelstx
05-25-2008, 05:39 AM
Yes I do for my mother. I go at least once a week or more. My birthday is Memorial Day weekend.....always a BIG DAY FOR HER. I'll be going out there today and probably tomorrow.

Jackie_Blu
05-25-2008, 06:06 AM