PDA

View Full Version : I was offered the main cook job at work......Not sure I want it.

Pepsi4me
03-25-2008, 12:25 PM
I was offered the main cook job at the school cafeteria I work at. It's a lot of work & responsibility cooking for about 450 kids every day.
I have no experience being a cook only experience in salad bar prep,fast food work, supermarket prepared foods/deli.
They offered it to me because the supervisor said I'm a hard worker, I can already handle doing two salad bars plus working the deli & help everyone else, I'm always in a good mood & get along with everyone. They are confident that I could handle it but I'm not so sure I would be able to.:dontknow:

I just dont know. They told me to think about it.

BigLyd1
03-25-2008, 12:38 PM
I guess there are different things to consider. Would it be more pay and how much more? Did you want the challenge? Would it possibly be too much to handle? It sounds like you're comfortable where you're at. Maybe that's the most important thing?

nightrider127
03-25-2008, 12:44 PM
Maybe they would let you take the position on a trial basis. That way, you would know if you can handle it or not.

Pepsi4me
03-25-2008, 12:49 PM
I would love to do it & I know they would help me til I know what I'm doing.
Not sure if it's more $ but with all that more work you would tink it would be more $.

I'm very comfortable where I am & it would mean I would no longer be serving on the elementary side, which I really love doing.

catdance
03-25-2008, 02:29 PM
YES you do, you need this, it would be great, in this given economy with these types of jobs, you will have security, and sounds like enough HELP, take it..take it..take it!
I am a LUNCH LADY as well of sorts, you will love this and even if the $ isn't the best, you are "all in" as they say in Poker...DO IT..