PDA

View Full Version : Grieving about a lost pet & have to leave work!

Pepsi4me
03-19-2008, 01:46 PM
I work in a school cafeteria & I work with a lady whos cat died this past saturday. She has no kids & had the cat for 15 yrs.
Yes I undrstand she's upset & it's very sad. I too have animals who are like my kids.

Anyway she came in Monday & Tuesday upset but able to work but telling everyone how sad she was,then all of the sudden today she's reallyl upset ,not talking & looks about to cry. She cant focus on her job & is working very slow.

Well she went home early right before we started serving the kids.:stunned

WTH! I mean I know she's upset but that upset that you cant focus on your job because your cat died?

Of course all the rest of us had to do her job & more work for all of us. The supervisor called her later & she doesn't know if she'll be in tomorrow.

We had a big BBQ today,tomorrow we have the Easter dinner & Friday we have a big VT dinner day. So we have all known for a while that this would be a very busy/hectic week for us all.

I just cant believe it!

freeby4me
03-19-2008, 01:52 PM
To someone who doesnt have kids, having a pet for 15 years would be super hard to lose. The first couple of days would be difficult but then, you really notice the silence, you notice the not feeding them anymore, not sitting on your lap, not welcoming you when you get home.

Im sure she didnt plan on her cat dieing right before such a hard week.

Pepsi4me
03-19-2008, 01:58 PM
Oh I do understand about pets & believe me my cat is my little boy.

I can understand about how hard it is but I also know how many people depend on me to do my job & I try not to put that burden on my co-workers no matter if I'm having a crappy day,feel like crap. I am a firm believe in leaving what happens at home at home & dont bring it to work.

You need to be professional & dependable at work.

dcut4
03-19-2008, 02:07 PM