PDA

View Full Version : Walmart meat?

gmyers
02-10-2008, 09:52 AM
Anybody else noticed how salty some of it is? I barely put any salt on it when I cook it but its so salty it'll gag you. I've been shopping at Walmart Neighborhood store for a few years and the end of last year and this year I keep getting meat that is really salty without me putting much on when I cook it. I've got chuck roasts, cube steak, ribeyes, and pork chops that are like that. They taste so bad you can't eat them. I've thrown away more meat this year after I've cooked it because of that. I'm going to try a different grocery store this time and see if the meats like that there or if its just that store. The meat looks good and smells good but tastes terribly salty when I cook it and its way to expensive for me to keep having to throw it away after I cook it.

JKATHERINE
02-10-2008, 09:57 AM
As a general rule, I never buy meats from Walmart--only from my local grocery store. It's much fresher.

Urban Cowgirl
02-10-2008, 10:08 AM
I normally don't buy meat there either. I buy my beef from a cattle farmer, either by the 1/2 or 1/4....tastes so much better than store bought.

I do have to day while at Walmart recently I did buy a new deli meat they have, it was out of this world. It was applewood smoked ham and OMG was it good! Decided to try it because I LOVE Carrando's Applewood smoked bacon so when I saw the ham I had to try it.

Are you finding its just beef that is salty or poultry and pork as well?

gmyers
02-10-2008, 10:25 AM
I haven't bought any other kinds of pork lately but the boneless pork chops that I've bought are really salty too. Meats way too high there anyway and then to not be able to eat it cause it tastes salty is bad.

MsLynn
02-10-2008, 10:27 AM
we don't have much choice so i buy most of mine from walmat, no problems here.

gmyers
02-10-2008, 10:33 AM