PDA

View Full Version : adhd and kids

earnhardt1
03-31-2007, 05:04 AM
what are the best treatmeant ideas i have heard that prmrose oil is a natural herbal treatment...but anyways here is the case.. my lil guy is 7 and hyper so the dr says do you want me to put him on meds for that? i was like what no testing nothing just medicate him? the dr said if i want he will write him a scrip and he doesnt need to test... i want to try herbal i think becasue he is on the following meds daily(he's a sick lil guy)
singular
clartin
albuterol
nebulizer
and another one i cant think of right now
what would you do?and i dont feel this interfers with school as he home schools

Willow
03-31-2007, 06:00 AM
My son takes Adderall XR for ADHD and there is only one type of cold medicine that he is allowed to take when he has a cold. I'm not a doctor but I don't think the ADHD medications would be safe to take with the medications that your son is taking.

earnhardt1
03-31-2007, 06:04 AM
that was my thoughts also i feel they would want to test him or something first and not just say hey lets medicate

Willow
03-31-2007, 06:12 AM
My son had to go in and see a psychologist and spent about two hours with her. She did a lot of observing but she also had tests that she gave him where he would have to put things together like little puzzles and stuff like that. I guess that part was to check his attention span. Then she would read things from a book and he would have to tell her what she just said. He's been on the honor roll the past two terms and he's in an advanced science and math class so kids with ADHD aren't dumb. He's always been very impulsive and sometimes makes bad choices but he's not dumb.

lavena1975
03-31-2007, 07:41 AM
my twins are on Adderall XR also... but it dont help with their anger issues!!!:(

Trishntx
03-31-2007, 08:03 AM