PDA

View Full Version : Ebay

Urban Cowgirl
02-17-2007, 11:38 AM
I wonder if I am crazy or what. I was going to bid on a 5lb itme on ebay, for which they are charging $19.99 shipping and hadling for priority mail, plus an additional $2 for insurance. My problem is that from their zip code to mine it would cost less than $10 to ship priority and insurance would only be $1.40. In the rules it says they can only charge what the insurance actually costs them. Plus I think the shipping charge is quite inflated. Should I report it? I have never done this before.

dv8grl
02-17-2007, 12:09 PM
There is no sense reporting them... Its your choice to bid or not, if you feel the shipping is too much, don't bid.

Goobie
02-17-2007, 12:44 PM
How much are you paying for the item? I always tell my buyers to figure in the cost of shipping as to what they are willing to bid.

People can charge whatever they want on shipping. It's up to you on whether or not you want to bid.

taylyn
02-17-2007, 01:25 PM
People can charge whatever they want on shipping. It's up to you on whether or not you want to bid

Yeah isn't that the Truth ....
Many times I pass up something I really want Because Of High Shipping.

i don't Care if its a little Inflated - But Sometimes its Ridiculous-

But thats the sellers Choice -

DBackFan
02-17-2007, 04:10 PM
After all my years of selling I always learn something new. I had NO idea that a seller could just CANCEL their auction because the bid wasn't as high as they wanted. I have the email from Ebay verifying this. As long as an auction is cancelled prior to it ending...what rubbish huh?

As for inflated shipping I hate it too but Ebay does allow to charge a handeling fee. I always look and see if it is still worth it to me and I have paid high shipping if its a deal still.

hblueeyes
02-17-2007, 06:14 PM