PDA

View Full Version : Dd Had Her Adhd Meds Changed (m)

gwens29
11-04-2005, 05:06 PM
They Changed Her From Focalin Which Was Working Just A Bit To Adderal Xr That Works Great Until Late This Evening About 5pm She Turned Into An Attention Monster Wants Me At Her Beck And Call 100% She Is Bossy Cranky Etc She Wasnt This Way Before On The Focalin But She Wasnt As Well Behaved Either Good Grief Is There No Middle Ground??? And She Is Sick With Strep Throat Been Home Sick For 2 Days From School ...she Wants Me To Drop Everyhitng And Sit With Her And Color Etc And I Have Been With Her All Day Reading Playing Etc And It Isnt Enough I Need A Break Im Gonna Go Nutsssssssss

hblueeyes
11-04-2005, 10:45 PM
Maybe it is more her being sick and home from school bored than the meds.
Remember, I have no knowledge or experience with AD/HD/HAD. Maybe it takes time for it to work thru and even out her behavior. Call her doctors office and ask. But my kids used to act like that as they were feeling better after being sick and strep is horrible.

Good luck

me :p

justme23
11-05-2005, 05:44 AM
My cousin is on Adderall... and you PERFECTLY described her. I love her to death but the child is a little monster. Alot of it is her grandmothers (she's raising her) fault, she lets her yell and scream at her and gives in to her every whim just so she'll shut up... but it drives the rest of us crazy to watch it happening... from BOTH of them. I feel for you and I hope you can get this taken care of!

Willow
11-05-2005, 06:05 AM
My son has been on Adderall XR for a couple of years now. It works great for him. One thing you have to watch out for is cold medicines. A lot of them have an ingredient that doesn't mix well with the Adderall. My son's doctor said to stay away from anything that has dextromethorphan in it.

jackbern
11-05-2005, 07:17 AM
Why did they change her Meds if she was doing great?
Also, it does take time to get in her system.